Reframe Japan, Wabi-Sabi

Three imperial regalia

As regards Three imperial regalia

Three imperial regalia(三種の神器: Sanshu no Jingi) are symbolize the royal status of the Emperor of Japan.

It is considered to be the symbol of the Emperor's military power and the three imperial regalia refer to the eight-span mirror (八咫鏡, Yata no Kagami), the comma-shaped jewel, (八尺瓊勾玉, Yasakani no magatama) and Grass-Mowing Sword(草薙剣, Kusanagi no tsurugi).

The three imperial regalia are believed to have been granted by Amaterasu Omikami (also known as Tensho daijin or the Sun Goddess) to her grandson Ninigi during "Tensonkorin" when he descended from heaven to rule over the country.

The legends described in the Kojiki and the Nihonshoki say that Amaterasu Omikami granted the "The three imperial regalia to her grandson Ninigi as yorishiro (objects representative of a divine spirit) during Tensonkorin" where he descended to earth in order to rule over the country.

The followings are list of the current locations of the three imperial regalia:

Three imperial regalia Where(Real ones) Where(replicas)
Eight-span mirror Ise-jingu Shrine Three shrines of the Imperial Court
Comma-shaped jewel the Imperial Palace
Grass-Mowing Sword Atsuta-jingu Shrine the Imperial Palace

Although there are several theories about the location of the three imperial regalia, today, it is commonly thought that the Eight-span mirror is dedicated to the Kotai-jingu Shrine of Ise Jingu Shrine, the Grass-Mowing Sword is dedicated to the Atsuta-jingu Shrine as a shintai (object of worship housed in a Shinto shrine and believed to contain the spirit of a deity), and the Comma-shaped jewel is stored in the residence of the Imperial Palace.

However, nobody can see the three imperial regalia.

Since it is believed that each of the three imperial regalia is sealed by the imperial predecessors or descendent, it is said that even if emperor of Japan cannot see the actual one.

Isuzu river